Teams Selected for Library Design Study

Tulare County Free Library, Allensworth, California. Robert Dawson + Josh Wallaert. Via Places
Tulare County Free Library, Allensworth, California. Robert Dawson + Josh Wallaert. Via Places 

As I mentioned a few weeks ago, I’ve been working with the Architectural League of New York and the Center for an Urban Future for the past few months to develop a design study of New York’s branch libraries. The jury — of which I was a member, along with Seema Agnani of Chhaya Community Development Corporation; Sarah Goldhagen, architecture critic for The New Republic; Henry Myerberg of HMA2; Lyn Rice of Rice+Lipka Architects; and representatives from the League and CUF — met two weeks ago to select finalists from among the 45 entries, and today the League announced the winners. Quite an exciting group. I look forward to working with them over the next four months, and to sharing the fruits of our labors in a big public event in mid-November.

Andrew Berman Architect | Library Development Solutions
 | Neil Donnelly | AEA Consulting | Auerbach Pollock Friedlander
Andrew Berman, architect and principal of Andrew Berman Architect; Leslie Burger, director of Princeton Public Library and founder of Library Development Solutions; Neil Donelly, graphic designer; Adrian and Elizabeth Ellis, cultural consultants and founders of AEA Consulting; and Steven Friedlander, theater consultant, founder of Auerbach Pollock Friedlander.

Marble Fairbanks with James Lima Planning + Development and Special Project Office
Scott Marble and Karen Fairbanks, architects and founding partners of Marble Fairbanks; James Lima, urban planner, real estate developer, and president of James Lima Planning + Development; Richard Tyson, design consultant and founding principal of Special Project Office; and Leah Meisterlin, urbanist, architect, planner, educator, and a director of Special Project Office.

MASS Design Group
Michael Murphy, architect and executive director of MASS Design Group; Michael Haggerty, urban planner and community service fellow at MASS Design Group; Chitra Aiyar, attorney and executive director of Sadie Nash Leadership Project; Phoebe Espirutu, design analyst, faculty member of the Flatiron School, and manager of the TechStars NYC HackStars; and Daniel Hernandez, real estate developer, planner, and project manager.

SITU Studio
Bradley Samuels, architect and founding partner of SITU Studio; Jessica Blaustein, designer, researcher, and director of The New School’s Urban Media Labs in the School of Media Studies; Jesse Keenan, research director for the Center for Urban Real Estate and professor of real estate development at the Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation at Columbia University; Rachel Meltzer, researcher and assistant professor of urban policy at the Milano School of International Affairs, Management and Urban Policy at The New School; and Christian Zabriskie and Lauren Comito, founders of Urban Librarians Unite.

Annie Barrett, architect and principal of Annie Barrett Studio; Adriel Mesznik, senior architect and urban designer at WXY; Ann Whiteside, Harvard Graduate School of Design librarian and assistant dean for information resources; Bryan Boyer, designer and principal of Dash Marshall; Ceren Bingol, senior architect at OMA; Helen Han, architect and filmmaker; Jane Lea, project architect at Architecture Research Office; Landon Brown, designer, researcher, and director of VisionArc; Ryan Thacker, graphic designer at Might Could; Sapna Advani, urban design and planning director at Grain Collective; and Scott Geiger, writer and critic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *